The first Faculty of Letters and Human sciences of Morocco was established In 1957 in Rabat – as per the instructions of his majesty the late King Mohammed V – it replaced the former Moroccan Institute of Higher Studies, founded in 1917. This new faculty of that time was honored by the visit of the late King Hassan II – Crown Prince then – during which he signed on the Guest Book. Since then, this academic institution has embarked on a great adventure leading it to the place it now occupies among Moroccan Universities and making it renowned both nationally and internationally.

Ever since its establishment, the Faculty of letters and human Sciences of Rabat has been in charge of training middle and high school teachers in the framework of the policy of the generalization, Arabization and Moroccanization of Education in Morocco. It performed this task adequately before the generalization of the Regional Centers for Education, by providing facilities for thousands of middle and high school teachers.

More than that, hundreds or even almost the majority of teachers and researchers in 14 Faculties of Letters in the kingdom were trained in this faculty either for basic studies before joining other universities abroad or by getting their doctoral degrees from it. The faculty has been in some ways the matrix of other institutions of letters and Human sciences. This is an added value, but also a heavy responsibility.

Alongside its role in training, the Faculty of Letters and Human Sciences of Rabat also has as a main purpose to be a research institution and a place to forge a knowledge about the Moroccan society and culture and insure their sustainability. In this regard, the faculty is distinguished by a quantitative and qualitative scientific production that surpassed national boundaries.

It is considered one of the main publishing houses. Its conferences, seminars and round tables always attract a large audience whereas its scientific journals are key references in various fields. Its library, operating since the era of the Moroccan Institute for Advanced Studies , offers more than 215,000 references in different disciplines and languages.

this only proves that we are talking about an institution that stands out from other newer institutions since it is home to an accumulation of equipments , experiences, knowledge and know-how; home to a rich scientific and cultural heritage . More than 400 scientific and administrative staff (including 262 teachers and researchers) are constantly working to improve the faculty’s output, both in terms of teaching and research.

Its premises are located in two sites: “Agdal”, comprising the main administration and dedicated to research and post Bachelor studies (Master and Doctorate studies) and “Al Irfane”   where bachelor studies and other services take place.

Until 1973, Human sciences were taught in Arabic and French as two separate sections. After that, teaching Human sciences was completely Arabized. Since 2003 and following the gradual implementation of the higher education reform based on the LMD system (B.A, M.A, Doctorate), the Faculty of letters and human sciences of Rabat offers studies in 13 branches for the preparation of DEUG (General University Studies Degree) and basic B.A and 2 branches for professional B.A.

These branches are managed by 13 departments, 6 in Languages and Literatures (Arabic, French, English, Spanish, Italian, German) and 7 in Human sciences (Philosophy, Sociology, Psychology, Islamic Studies, Geography, History, and Communication Sciences and Technology).

The Faculty offers 15 Master branches shared between the departments of language and literature on one hand, and the departments of Human Sciences, on the other. As for the doctoral studies, the faculty established the Center for Doctoral Studies: CEDOC “Man and Space in the Mediterranean world.”

The Center offers 14 doctoral programs to which over 100 students were registered in 2009. In addition, and in the framework of the old UFR (Training and Research Unit) system, the Faculty includes 37 UFR training more than 500 doctoral students. The Faculty also has a Research and Geographical Studies Center CERGEO, laboratories, 32 specialized research teams in different fields of language , literature and human sciences, as well as many scholarly societies.

تأسست أول كلية للآداب والعلوم الإنسانية في المغرب عام 1957 بالرباط وذلك وفقا لتعليمات المغفور له جلالة الملك محمد الخامس اذ حلت محل المعهد المغربي للدراسات العليا، الذي تأسس عام 1917.

وقد حظيت هذه الكلية عقب تأسيسها بشرف زيارة الملك الراحل الحسن الثاني – ولي العهد انذاك – اذ وقع خلالها على الكتاب الذهبي للكلية. ولقد خاضت هذه المؤسسة منذ ذلك الحين غمار معركة التطور والإزدهار لتصل إلى المكان الذي تحتله حاليا وسط الجامعات المغربية وتصبح مرجعا وطنيا ودوليا.

ولقد تحملت كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية بالرباط ,منذ تأسيسها, مسؤولية تكوين أساتذة التعليم الاعدادي والثانوي في إطار سياسة تعميم وتعريب ومغربة التربية والتعليم في المغرب قبل تعميم المراكز الجهوية للتربية والتكوين وذلك عبر توفير مرافق تكوين آلاف الأساتذة.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فان مئات أو تقريبا غالبية الأساتذة والباحثين في 14 كليات الآداب المغربية تلقوا تكوينهم في هذه الكلية سواء للدراسات الأساسية قبل الالتحاق بجامعات خارج المملكة أو حتى حصولهم على شهادة الدكتوراه. وتشكل هذه الكلية مرجع وعماد باقي كليات الاداب والعلوم الانسانية. ويعتبر كل هذا قيمة مضافة للكلية، ولكن في نفس الوقت عبءا ثقيلا عليها.

وإلى جانب دورها في التكوين، تهدف كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية بالرباط أيضا الى ان تكون مركز أبحاث ومكانا لخلق معرفة حول المجتمع والثقافة المغربيين وضمان استدامتهما. وفي هذا الصدد، تتميزالكلية بانتاج علمي مميز كماً ونوعا تجاوز الحدود الوطنية.

وتعتبر الكلية واحدة من أهم دور النشر . وتحتضن مؤتمراتها وندواتها وموائدها المستديرة حظورا غفيرا في حين تعتبر مجلاتها العلمية مراجع رئيسية في مختلف المجالات. وتوفر مكتبتها منذ عهد المعهد المغربي للدراسات العليا أكثر من 215,000 مراجعا في تخصصات ولغات مختلفة.

كل هذا ليس من شأنه الا أن يثبت أن الكلية تتفوق على غيرها من المؤسسات الحذيثة لأنها مركز تجمع الخبرات والمعرفة والدراية وموطن لتراث علمي وثقافي غني.

ويعمل أكثر من 400 موظف (بما في ذلك 262 من المدرسين والباحثين) باستمرار على تحسين ما تنتجه الكلية، سواء عبر التدريس أوالبحث.

وتفع مرافق الكلية في كل من : “أكدال”، التي تضم الإدارة الرئيسية وتتخصص في البحث ودراسات ما بعد الاجازة (ماستر ودكتوراه) و “العرفان” حيث دراسات الاجازة وخدمات أخرى.

وكانت تدرس العلوم الإنسانية باللغتين العربية والفرنسية في مسلكين منفصلين حتى عام 1973. بعد ذلك، تم تعريب تدريسها بالكامل. وابتداءا من عام 2003، وبعد التنفيذ التدريجي لإصلاح التعليم العالي بناءا على نظام LMD( الاجازة- الماستر- الدكتوراه)، أصبحت كلية الآداب والعلوم الإنسانية بالرباط تقدم دراسات في 13 مسلك لتحضير شهادة (الدراسات الجامعية العامة) والإجازة في الدراسات الأساسية ومسلكين في الاجازة المهنية.

تتوزع هذه المسالك على 13 قسما : 6 أقسام في اللغات والآداب (اللغات العربية، والفرنسية، والإنجليزية، والإسبانية، والإيطالية، والألمانية) و7 أقسام في العلوم الإنسانية (الفلسفة، وعلم الاجتماع، وعلم النفس، والدراسات الإسلامية، والجغرافيا، والتاريخ، وعلوم الاتصال والتكنولوجيا).

وتوفر الكلية أيضا 15 مسلكا لدراسات الماستر تتوزع بين قسم اللغة والأدب من جهة، وقسم العلوم الإنسانية من جهة أخرى. أما بالنسبة لدراسات الدكتوراه،فقد تم انشاء مركز دراسات الدكتوراه(CEDOC) تحت عنوان : “الإنسان والمجال في العالم المتوسطي”.

ويوفر هذا المركز 14 مسلكا سجل فيه ما يفوق عن 100 طالب عام 2009. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وفي إطار وحدة التكوين والبحث (UFR) التابعة للنظام القديم،فان الكلية تضم ما يناهز 37 وحدة لتكوين أكثر من 500 طالب. وتضم الكلية أيضا مركز البحوث والدراسات الجغرافية (CERGEO) بالاضافة الى مختبرات و32 فرقة بحث متخصصة في مختلف مجالات اللغة والأدب والعلوم الإنسانية.